Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
CMD Europhysics Prize
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features

The EPS CMD Europhysics Prize is one of Europe’s most prestigious prizes in the field of condensed matter physics. It is awarded every 2 years in recognition of recent work by one or more individuals for scientific excellence in the area of condensed matter physics. It is currently sponsored by EPL, Europe's leading broad based letters journal.

The work for which the individual(s) is/are nominated must not be completed more than 5 years prior to the award. The award will recognise research for which a significant portion of the work was carried out in Europe, and may be given for either pure or applied research.

The Prize Ceremony and Lecture are highlights of the EPS CMD General Conference, organised every 2 years. For more information on where the conference is organised, please visit the CMD 25-JMC 14 conference website (former conference: CMD 24).

A list of previous EPS CMD Europhysics Prize recipients can be found in the document collection below.

2016 Prize Winners

  • P. Böni
  • A.N. Bogdanov
  • C. Pfleiderer
  • A. Rosch
  • A. Vishwanath

“for the theoretical prediction, the experimental discovery and the theoretical analysis of a magnetic skyrmion phase in MnSi, a new state of matter.” Read the press release here.


EPS CMD documents

More InfoHide Info ]
EPS CMD documents
Item Name Posted By Date Posted
EPS CMD Europhysics Prize 2016 PDF (333.84 KB) Administration 26/09/2017
EPS CMD Europhysics Prize 2014 PDF (1.73 MB) G. Gunaratnam, European Physical Society 13/06/2014
EPS CMD Europhysics Prize Charter PDF (304.63 KB) Administration 06/11/2013
EPS CMD Europhysics Prize Recipients PDF (327.23 KB)  more ] Administration 28/09/2017
EPS CMD Europhysics Prize 2012 PDF (65.18 KB) G. Gunaratnam, EPS 06/09/2012
Community Search
Sign In