Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
Divisions: Condensed Matter Division
Group Pages

The Condensed Matter Division (CMD) of the European Physical Society, aims to serve its scientific, industrial and educational communities by helping them to obtain the latest information on progress in their specialties and related fields, to gain visibility for their research, to help them interact with their peers and to develop professionally.

The Condensed Matter Division includes several sections focused on specific areas of condensed matter physics:


Low Temperature Physics
Macromolecular Physics
Structural And Dynamical Properties Of Solids
Semiconductors And Insulators
Surfaces And Interfaces

A major activity of CMD and its sections is the organization of quality peer-reviewed conferences and scientific meetings, including the biennial EPS CMD conference, as well as several other major European conferences.

To highlight scientific excellence, CMD also awards the prestigious EPS Europhysics Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Condensed Matter Physics. This prize (formerly the Hewlett Packard and then Agilent Technologies Europhysics Award) has been presented since 1975, and has become one of the most prestigious awards for condensed matter physics in Europe. Many Europhysics Prize winners have subsequently been awarded the Nobel Prize in recognition of their achievements, including in 2007 the Nobel Prize winners both in Physics (Albert Fert and Peter Grünberg) and in Chemistry (Gerhard Ertl).

CMD25-JMC14: “Condensed Matter in Paris”
See photos of the event on the conference website or on Facebook.

Upcoming Events
2nd international workshop on Irradiation of Nuclear Materials: Flux and Dose Effects.
04 November 2015
School: Physical and chemical characterization of surfaces at different scales
16 November 2015
Isolated Quantum Many-Body Systems out of Equilibrium
30 November 2015
8th ILL Annual School on Neutron Diffraction Data Treatment
14 December 2015
Spectroscopies in Novel Superconductors
19 June 2016
6th International Symposium on Structure Property Relationships in Solid State Materials (SPSSM-2016
01 July 2016
International Conference on Energy, Materials and Photonics (EMP16)
10 July 2016
4th International Soft Matter Conference (ISMC 2016)
12 September 2016

Board Member
Henri Godfrin
Board Member
Manuel Ricardo Ibarra
Board Member
Guenter Reiter
Board Member
Petra Rudolf
Board Member
Lucia Sorba
Board Member
Margarida Maria Telo da Gama
Cornelis Van Der Beek

Community Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Physics Feed